Along with the Watch Page, there are also sharing permissions that you should be aware of.
Video Privacy
Restricted - This means that the video is not viewable by other people. If you want the video only to be accessible to you, then this is the right permission. If you want to share the video, choose a different permission setting.
Anyone with this link - This means that anyone with the link can watch the video. You’ll be prompted to select how you would like to capture viewer information in the next step.
Anyone in my domain- This means that anyone with an email address that matches your private organizational domain (the part after the @ symbol) will be able to watch the video. You can add multiple domains to this section as well! This is helpful if, for example, your students have a different domain than the rest of the organization. You can add multiple allowed email domains when selecting 'Anyone in my organization'
Viewer Tracking
In addition to choosing a video privacy, you’ll also want to determine how you will capture your viewer information. Choosing “Anyone with this link” will prompt you to select one of the following options:
Track anonymously - This means that viewers will not have to sign in to access your video. This is helpful when you are sending a video for your students' parents to view. You may want to know it was viewed, but it’s more important that parents can access the video and less important to know exactly who watched the video.
Track by email - This means that users will have to sign in with their Google account to view your video. Anyone with a Google account will be able to view your video, and you will be able to see exactly who watched your video in your analytics!
Track by name - This means that your viewer will be prompted to enter a “name” in order to watch your video. This allows you to gather meaningful but anonymous data on who watched your video.
How to Update the Share Settings for the Watch Page
- Open your recording on the Video Management Page by clicking on the video you want to share from the My Videos Dashboard.
- Click the "Share" button in the top right-hand corner.
- Select the preferred video privacy: (Restricted, Anyone with this link, or Anyone in my domain)
- Select the preferred viewer tracking: (Track anonymously, Track by email, or Track by name)
- Click "Save".
- Click on the blue "Copy Share Link" button in the top right corner of the page.
- Paste your link anywhere you'd like to share it.
Note: A video, upon creation, is always set to 'Restricted.' As soon as you click the 'Copy Share Link' button, the permissions will automatically update to the default permissions you have set for your video or the default settings set by Screencastify which is 'Anyone with the link' and 'Track by email'. You can change this default setting at any time and create a custom default configuration if you wish!