You may be seeing records in your Viewer Analytics as “Anonymous” users. This is because you set your Viewer Tracking in Share Settings to Track anonymously.
This means that your video currently does not require a sign-in or entry of any information by your viewers in order to access the video. In terms of your viewer analytics, it means that while we are able to see that someone has viewed your video, we are not able to track who the specific viewer was.
If you would like to know who is watching your video, we recommend that you change your viewer tracking to one of the following:
Track by email - This means that the viewer must log in to their Google account in order to access the video. Anyone with a Google account may access the video. The user will show up in your analytics with their name and email address.
Track by name - This means that the viewer must enter a nickname in order to access the video. The user will show up in your analytics under their nickname
Here's a quick walkthrough on changing those share settings:
- From the Video Management Page, click the Share button.
- Update the Video Privacy to Anyone with the link or Anyone in my domain.
- Update the Viewer Tracking section to either Track by email or Track by name.
- Click Save.
You have now updated your share settings! Please also note that if you do update your share settings, we are unable to update your existing analytics records retroactively. Only new records going forward will be tracked under the new share settings.